Subscribe now to start getting your magazines and music


September 2017 Issue
August 2017
JAZZIZ July Issue


Wayne Shorter awarded Guggenheim Fellowship

Saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in the field of music composition.


Established in 1925, the Fellowship is intended for men and women who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. This year’s slate of 178 honorees and beneficiaries, drawn from U.S. and Canadian citizens active in the humanities, sciences and arts, were named on April 6.


While the Guggenheim Foundation has previously conferred its prestigious annual Fellowships on an average of three jazz artists per year, Shorter is the only one to receive the honor in 2016. Previous recipients of the Fellowship include Rudresh Mahanthappa, Wadada Leo Smith, Paquito D’Rivera, Randy Weston.


An NEA Master, co-founder of Weather Report and veteran of Miles Davis’ great 1960’s quintet, today Shorter leads leads an improvising quartet comprising pianist Danilo Perez, bassist John Patitucci and drummer Brian Blade. Their most recent record, Without a Net, was released in 2013.

© 2017 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

Shopping Cart

Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop

Jazziz Ad 300x300 banner crop

Current Spotlights

Listen to Kris Russell's new single "Down in Brazil"

New Releases Record Bin

The Three Sounds, featuring Gene Harris Groovin’ Hard: Live at the Penthouse 1964-1968

Urbanity Debut Single "Don't Look Back"


© 2017 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

What's your favorite jazz?