Subscribe now to start getting your magazines and music


January 2018 Cover
December 2017 Cover

Chick Corea & Bella Fleck May 19th NJPAC


The winners of UK’s 2016 Parliamentary Jazz Awards

The winners of the 12th edition of UK’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards were announced on May 10 at a ceremony held at the Terrace Pavilion of London’s House of Commons.


The awards honored a wide range of emerging and established artists. They were voted for by the public online with a shortlist of nominations chosen by a panel of jazz industry figures and with the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group subsequently selecting the final winners.


The award for Jazz Album of the Year went to saxophonist Julian Argüelles for his South African inspired record Let It Be Told. Emilia Mårtensson won Best Vocalist of the Year while pianist Alexander Hawkins received the top prize in the Instrumentalist of the Year category. Other highlights include Binker and Moses winning the award for Jazz Newcomer of the Year and Empirical picking up the Jazz Ensemble of the Year prize.


Mary Greig, the editor of the long running listings freesheet Jazz in London, which ceased publication in April after 40 years of continuous production, was honored with the Services to Jazz Award. Special awards were also presented to saxophonist Evan Parker and co-chair of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation, Michael Connarty.


Ronnie Scott’s All-Stars provided music at the ceremony, which featured vocalists Claire Martin and Jacqui Dankworth, clarinettist Arun Ghosh and several Members of Parliament as guest presenters.

© 2018 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

Shopping Cart


Current Spotlights

Michael McDonald
10 actors who played real-life jazz artists
2018 GRAMMYS: Best Latin Jazz Album nominees
2018 GRAMMYS: Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album nominees
2018 GRAMMYS: Best Jazz Vocal Album nominees

New Releases Record Bin

REVIEW: Günter “Baby” Sommer - Le Piccole Cose: Live at Theater Gütersloh
REVIEW: Regina Carter - Ella: Accentuate the Positive
REVIEW: Ignacio Berroa Trio - Straight Ahead From Havana
REVIEW: The Angelica Sanchez Trio - Float the Edge
REVIEW: Gerald Clayton - Tributary Tales
REVIEW: Duende Libre - Duende Libre

Ken Wiley

© 2018 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

What's your favorite jazz?