Subscribe now to start getting your magazines and music


January 2018 Cover
December 2017 Cover


Previously unreleased Sun Ra music out now

Previously unreleased Sun Ra music out now

A previously unreleased Sun Ra radio session has been released via Strut and Art Yard. The album, titled Of Abstract Dreams, is out now on LP, CD, and digital.

The session was most likely recorded at the WXPN FM radio studios in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1974-1975. It features a new version of Sun Ra’s earlier “Island in the Sun,” a raucous rendition of “Unmask the Batman,” and the first-ever studio recording of “I’ll Wait for You.” There is no bass player on the session and Sun Ra’s left-hand beats out a rhythmic bass pattern on piano.

All tracks on Of Abstract Dreams have been remastered directly from the original tapes. The album package features a cover photo by photographer Alan Nahigan and new sleeve notes by Paul Griffiths.

For more information on Sun Ra’s Of Abstract Dreams, go to https://strut.greedbag.com/buy/of-abstract-dreams-0/

© 2018 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

Shopping Cart


Current Spotlights

Jon Stickley Trio announces lineup change
Michael McDonald

New Releases Record Bin

Sarah Partridge - Bright Lights & Promises: Redefining Janis Ian
Tom Harrell - Moving Picture
Bruce Harris - Beginnings
Spike Wilner Trio - Odalisque
Mike Reed’s Flesh & Bone - Flesh & Bone
Hal Galper and the Youngbloods - Live at the Cota Jazz Festival

Strings Attached Jazz Guitar Series Monthly Residence at Zinc Bar

© 2018 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

What's your favorite jazz?