Subscribe now to start getting your magazines and music


September 2017 Issue
August 2017


Pat Metheny announces world tour with his new quartet for 2016

By Matt Micucci


20 time Grammy Award guitarist Pat Metheny has announced an extended run of tour dates around the world for 2016. The concerts, titled “An Evening with Pat Metheny” will present a range of music from the artist’s entire career. “I have so much music from over the years that I almost never play,” said Metheny. “I thought it would be fun and interesting to put together a really select group of musicians who could cover the widest range of everything I have done previously and could also possibly develop into something beyond that with a lot of playing together under our belts”.


The 34-date world tour will be Metheny’s first with his new Quartet, which features longtime collaborator, drummer and composer Antonio Sanchez alongside British pianist Gwilym Simcock and Malaysian-born, US resident bassist Linda Oh.


In 2015, Metheny took a break from the extensive touring that followed the successes of his Unity Band and Unity Group records. However, he remained active on different fronts, creating the critically acclaimed large scale work “Hommage” for Eberhard Weber and performed it at events in Europe, Japan and America and serving as artist-in-residence for the Detroit Jazz Festival.


Highlights of his 2016 tour include a four night run at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club in London from June 29 to July 2, a performance at the Copenhagen Jazz Festival on July 4 and one at the Kongsberg Jazz Festival in Norway on July 6.


Click here for a full list of the touring schedule ->http://www.patmetheny.com/schedule/<-

© 2017 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

Shopping Cart

Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop

Jazziz Ad 300x300 banner crop

Current Spotlights

A short history of ... "St. Louis Blues" (W.C. Handy, 1914)
New Bill Frisell documentary to screen at DOC NYC, November 15
A short history of ... "Easy Living" (Ralph Rainger and Leo Robin, 1937)
A short history of ... "Blueberry Hill" (Vincent Rose, Larry Scott, Al Lewis, 1940)


New Releases Record Bin

The Three Sounds, featuring Gene Harris Groovin’ Hard: Live at the Penthouse 1964-1968

Jazziz Ad 300x300 banner crop

© 2017 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

What's your favorite jazz?