Dave Gisler Trio with Jaimie Branch

Zurich Concert (Intakt Records)

Three years after their celebrated debut album Rabbits on the Run (Intakt CD 304) the Dave Gisler trio presents a live album: Guest on trumpet is Jaimie Branch. Over the past few years Dave Gisler has earned himself an impressive reputation in the free-thinking force field of contemporary jazz as a maverick sound architect on the electric guitar. On the one hand the Dave Gisler trio loves the punch of a rock sensibility, but it cheerfully slips into quieter and calmer zones, where individual sounds and otherworldly textures remix the essences afresh. Anyone who has already seen Jaimie Branch live will know her unique way of tuning into the energy, the way she stands, takes up the instrument, and plays – natural and sovereign, incisive and melancholy, light and weighty. It’s clear from the start that this musician’s energy fires up the Dave Gisler trio. And in turn the trio’s inspiration has an effect on the trumpeter which feeds back into the group. “The music on Zurich Concert strikes a chord, in a time shaken by emotions and extremes,” writes Pirmin Bossart in the liner notes. “It’s attitude unflinching, under the surface the pulse is tender and sensual.”

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. Nameless
  3. What Goes Up ...
  4. Cappuccino
  5. Spiegelgasse
  6. One Minute too Late
  7. Rabbits on the Run
  8. Better Don’t Fuck with the Drunken Sailor
  9. Dive

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz