New Hermitage

Unearth ((Self-Released))

The fifth album by Halifax / Montréal-based improvising quartet New Hermitage unfolds through a series of whispered vignettes, offering the ensemble’s most cohesive statement to date. It follows their collaboration with bass clarinet virtuoso Jeff Reilly, which won Music Nova Scotia’s Best Classical Recording Award. Drawing on the spontaneous music practice of leader Andrew MacKelvie’s mentor/ collaborator Jerry Granelli, Pauline Oliveros’ Deep Listening™ this album’s hushed dream-like world, sounds as though the band is interpreting a half-erased chalk portrait of spiritual free-jazz. RIYL: Dans Les Arbres, Popol Vuh, Town & Country, Luciano Cilio, Alice Coltrane.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Andrew MacKelvie — alto & tenor saxophones, bass clarinet
India Gailey — cello
Ross Burns — guitar
Ellen Gibling — harp

Track Listing

  1. Boiling Off, Collecting Vapours
  2. Light Through the Rubble
  3. Wind Whistles
  4. Moss | Rust
  5. Skeletons
  6. Pine Bottle Skylight
  7. Signal Scan
  8. Patient Sprout
  9. Stalkers
  10. Desertification
  11. In Amber

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz