Scott Marshall

The Solitude Suite (Self Released)

Toronto – based composer, saxophonist, producer, band leader, and educator Scott Marshall
A skilled composer and arranger, Scott’s compositions have been featured on
Six of his own releases: The Solitude Suite (2024), Dream Logic Project (2018), Nihahi Ridge (2014), Vignettes (2010), Nine Moments of Time (2007), and Face It (2002). Scott has also had compositions featured on Lyne Tremblay’s release Get To It (2021), and two releases by the group Out of Order: What Now (2000), and Out of Order (1997). Scott’s compositions have also been featured in the feature length movie The Anniversary by Canadian film maker Valarie Buhagiar, and the short film The Loss by Consistent C Films.
Scott’s abilities on the saxophone, featured on his own recordings, have also found him appearing as a guest soloist on several releases including: Tom Leighton’s Better Leighton than Never (2021), Tom Swift’s release The Fortunate Few (2013), Tom Leighton’s Leighton Tendencies (2010), NOJO’S critically acclaimed release NOJO Explores the Dark Side (2010), Bill Stevenson’s ECMA award winning recording For the Record (2006),Whitney Smith Big Steam Band Life Drawing (2004), Lyne Tremblay’s critically acclaimed release Break and Enter (2003),and Out of Order What Now (2000) and Out of Order (1997).
In addition to recording Scott has had the opportunity to perform in Dubai UAE, Germany, Sweden, England, the United States, as well as coast to coast across Canada. Scott has band led several of his own ensembles and has performed with a lengthy and diverse list of accomplished musicians including: Norah Jones, Johnny Mathus, The Temptations, The Four Tops, The Rascals, Marie Osmond, Bobby Caldwell, Lance Anderson’s Last Waltz Show, Russel de Carle, The Shuffle Demons, Denzel Sinclaire, The Kitchener Waterloo Symphony Orchestra, Manteca, Pretzel Logic, Shadmehr Aghilli, Hot Toddy, Bill Stevenson, Lyne Tremblay, Out of Order, and the Juno-winning big-band NOJO.
Scott is a skilled producer. As well as producing his own six releases, Scott produced and arranged all the music for the highly successful twenty five show concert series Marshall at the Monarch (2013 – 2015), which featured many great Toronto jazz musicians like: Dave Young, David Braid, Kevin Turcotte, Mike Murley, David Restivo, Adrean Farugia, Rich Brown, Mike Downs, Jim Vivian, and Terry Clarke to name a few. Scott also co-produced and arranged all the music for Lyne Tremblay’s critically acclaimed release Break and Enter (2003) and served as Lyne’s music director for several years. Scott also co produced two shows with writer, producer, actor John Evans: The Deco Show (2004), and The Beat Generation (2014).
Scott has had a lengthy and diverse career as a music educator. He is the Director of Bands at The Oscar Peterson School of Music at the Royal Conservatory of Music, he is a member of the jazz faculty at the Inter Provincial Music Camp, a member of faculty at the Bobcageon Music Camp, and has been a band instructor for the Toronto District School Board for twenty five years. Scott taught at The University of North Texas and has instructed masterclasses at St Francis Xavier University, The University of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia Community College, Toronto District School Board’s Music Department, as well as numerous high schools across the country.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Scott Marshall tenor and soprano saxophone
Kevin Turcotte trumpet and flugel horn
Mike Downes acoustic bass
Terry Clarke drums

Track Listing

  1. Solitude No. 1: What Would Eddie Do 5:25:44
  2. Solitude No. 2: Optimism 5:06:71
  3. Solitude No. 3: Frugal Fuguel 6:12:55
  4. Solitude No. 4: Points of View 7:50:37
  5. Solitude No. 5: The Monk Trane 4:36:68
  6. Solitude No. 6: Reflection 6:11:30
  7. Solitude No. 7 Conversations 6:29:37
  8. Solitude No. 8 Solid Dude Debate 5:21:39
  9. Solitude No. 9: That’s Better 8:16:37

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz