James Robert Murphy

Park North (BLBM Publishing)

James Robert Murphy is an award-winning musician and author originally from Central New York now residing in the borderland community of El Paso. Murphy’s career primarily focused on various blues stylings featured on the award-winning box set A History of Blues In 2019 Murphy began leaning heavily into jazz with the 2020 release ‘Jazz: The 2920 Sessions’ followed by Park North, featuring seven new compositions. Karina Bugarini, Mexican choreographer/musician states, “Park North is a sublime trip that incorporates genius elements from jazz and blues ” ‘German’ Mike Gienapp – “It sounds very clean, very smooth, and very intellectual.”

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Ruben Gutierrez - piano, organ, strings
Curt Bushaw - bass
Frank Zona - saxophones
Joshua Lucero - vocals on Wherever, Whenever
James Murphy - guitar, vocals, author, producer

Track Listing

  1. Stone Edge
  2. Wherever, Whenever
  3. Run Johnny
  4. Cryin' Cat Blues
  5. Hey Baby
  6. Scionti
  7. There Was A Time
  8. People Get Ready (Curtis Mayfield)

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz

As part of our celebration of Women’s History Month, we’re offering an exclusive all-women CD featuring some of the greatest jazz artists in the world, including Carla Bley, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Jane Bunnett, Brenda Russell, Michele Rosewoman, Leni Stern, Gabriela Anders and Keely Smith.

to claim yours for free by gifting a friend a subscription.