Open City (Intakt Records)

Christoph Irniger, born 1979, is a Swiss saxophonist, composer and bandleader. In recent years, Irniger has made a name for himself in a range of line-ups, playing jazz, rock and related musical styles Irniger is leader of the band Pilgrim and the Christoph Irniger Trio with Ziv Ravitz and Raffaele Bossard which between them have released several albums.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


After the acclaimed albums Gowanus Canal (2012) and Octopus (2015), Christoph Irniger and his trio with bassist Raffaele Bossard and drummer Ziv Ravitz present Open City: extended by the American alto saxophonist Loren Stillman and guest Nils Wogram on trombone. Familiar with the jazz tradition, the extended trio makes an up-to-date musical statement. With playful wit and melodic inventiveness, the ensemble, which is oriented towards song structures, combines arrangement and improvisation to form a harmonious and seductive musical statement. "They are not only eminent technicians, they are also adept at interplay, like sleepwalkers. With Loren Stillman and Nils Wogram Christoph Irniger's trio creates music which unites intelligence and passion, timeless yet up to date," writes Manfred Papst in the liner notes.

Track Listing

  1. My World (Ch. Irniger) 6:16
  2. Open City (Ch. Irniger) 5:01
  3. Calling (Ch. Irniger) 4:40
  4. Ballad (Ch. Irniger) 4:19
  5. 40 Years of an Old Wise Lady (R. Bossard) 5:59
  6. Hot and Humid (Ch. Irniger) 2:52
  7. The New Dope (Ch. Irniger) 4:08
  8. Time (Ch. Irniger) 4:33
  9. Mass Media Minion (R. Bossard) 4:37
  10. Three Little Birds (Ch. Irniger) 4:34

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz