Jason Yeager

New Songs of Resistance (Outside in Music)

New York-based pianist and composer Jason Yeager creates music that is deeply expressive and multi-faceted, defying convention while reveling in the traditions of jazz, blues, contemporary classical music, and Latin American folk rhythms. An adroit and sensitive accompanist as well as an imaginative bandleader, Yeager has released five albums as a leader, including United (with Jason Anick), named one of the best albums of 2017 by Downbeat. New York Music Daily hails his newest album, New Songs of Resistance, as “searingly relevant” and “one of the best albums of 2019 in any style of music.”

All arrangements by Jason Yeager.
Produced by Jason Yeager. Co-produced by Bruno Råberg.

All original compositions (2-4, 6-8, 10-12) published by Jason William Kram Yeager, BMI.
“Gracias a la vida” by Violeta Parra Sandoval, Rightsong Music, Inc., on behalf of Editorial Mus. Korn Intersong, and SDRM.
“Aquí me quedo” by Victor Jara and Patricio Castillo, with lyrics by Pablo Neruda, Copyright Control (publisher unknown).
“Cinco siglos igual” by León Gieco and Luis Gurevich, SADAIC Latin Copyrights, Inc.
“Apesar de voce” by Chico Buarque, SDRM.

“Somos Cinco Mil” contains excerpts from Victor Jara’s last poem of the same name, set here to original music by Jason Yeager. Jara wrote the poem shortly before he was executed by Augusto Pinochet’s brutal forces in the tragic US-backed Chilean military coup of 1973.

Recorded June 7th and October 18th, 2018 at Shames Family Scoring Stage, Berklee College of Music, Boston, MA.
Recorded and mixed by Mark Wessel.
Mixed and mastered by David Darlington.
Artwork and design by Jamie Breiwick, B-Side Graphics.
Photo of Jason Yeager by Simon Yu.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Jason Yeager - piano, arrangements, compositions
Fernando Huergo - electric bass
Mark Walker - drums
Erini - voice (1, 3, 5, 9)
Farayi Malek - voice (2, 7, 11)
Mirella Costa - voice (13)
Milena Casado - flugelhorn (1, 5, 9)
Cosimo Boni - trumpet (2, 6)
Matthew Stubbs - clarinet, bass clarinet (1, 2, 5, 9, 11)
Naseem Alatrash - cello (1, 3, 5, 9)

Track Listing

  1. Gracias a la vida (Violeta Parra) 07:25
  2. The Facts 05:40
  3. Somos cinco mil (Yeager/Jara) 06:38
  4. Interlude: Uncovering 01:47
  5. Aquí me quedo (Victor Jara/Patricio Castillo) 05:43
  6. Mother Earth 06:30
  7. In Search of Truth 06:05
  8. Interlude: Resistance 01:52
  9. Cinco siglos igual (Gieco/Gurevich) 06:23
  10. Protest 01:23
  11. Reckoning 05:03
  12. Interlude: Factitudes 02:28
  13. Apesar de voce (Chico Buarque) 05:48

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz