Larry Coryell

Larry’s Last Swing with Ireland (Angel Air Records)

As one of the pioneers of jazz-rock — perhaps the pioneer in the ears of some — Larry Coryell deserves a special place in the history books. He brought what amounted to a nearly alien sensibility to jazz electric guitar playing in the 1960s, a hard-edged, cutting tone, and phrasing and note-bending that owed as much to blues, rock, and even country as it did to earlier, smoother bop influences. Yet as a true eclectic, armed with a brilliant technique, he remained comfortable in almost every style.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Larry Coryell - guitar
Kevin Brady- drums
Dave Redmond - bass

Track Listing

  1. In a Sentimental Mood (Larry’s take on the Duke Ellington standard)
  2. Morning of the Carnival (a bossa nova classic that became a jazz standard and has been covered by the likes of Gerry Mulligan, Quincy Jones, Charlie Byrd, and now Larry)
  3. Relaxin’ at Camarillo (a Charlie Parker composition and another jazz standard)
  4. Someday My Prince Will Come (A song from the 1937 Disney film, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs that has become a jazz standard with popular versions recorded by Dave Brubeck and Miles Davis, among others)
  5. The Last Peavey (a Larry original)
  6. 396 (a Larry original)

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz