Alex Jønsson

Heathland (Gateway Music / Cargo Records)

Dust, the moor, and wide open spaces characterize Alex Jønsson’s new album ‘Heathland’, which is the fourth trio release from the acknowledged, Danish guitarist and composer.

Since 2012, he has been nominated for a Danish Music Award Jazz no less than nine times! Most will know him from orchestras like “I Think You’re Awesome”, “Mirja Klippel”, and “Bagland” Yet, in recent years, as a composer and a bandleader, Alex Jønsson has raised his profile as one of the most interesting jazz guitarists on the modern scene.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Alex Jønsson: guitar
Jens Mikkel Madsen: bass
Andreas Skamby: drums

Track Listing

  1. Heathland
  2. Stillness
  3. …and Darkness Crept In
  4. Out of Shape
  5. Icicles
  6. The Sun Is Slowly Rising
  7. Paul
  8. Re: Herr Sehr Schwer
  9. 09. Emu

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz



Miles Davis Special Issue

By submitting, you give JAZZIZ Magazine permission to keep you updated via email or customized online advertising. You can opt out at any time. Check our privacy policy for more details.

Enter your email below for a free MEETING MILES: FACE TO FACE WITH THE PRINCE OF DARKNESS Special Issue!