Orchestre-Poly-Rythmo De Cotonou Dahomey

‘Gbeti Ma Djro’ / ‘Angelina II’ (Albarika Store / Acid Jazz Records)

More dancefloor dynamite from Benin’s almighty Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou Dahomey, this time in the form of ‘Gbeti Ma Djro’. Confusingly described on the centre label of the 1971 original issue as ’Soul’, this is in fact a prime slice of Afro-psych-funk complete with wails and grunts over fierce drums and picked guitar. ‘Angelina II’ is a much warmer affair that rides a shuffling mid-tempo pachanga groove. Both tracks were transferred, restored and mastered from the original 1/4 inch tape.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Orchestre-Poly-Rythmo De Cotonou Dahomey - 'Gbeti Ma Djro' / 'Angelina II'

Track Listing

  1. Tracklist
  2. Side A
  3. Gbeti Ma Djro
  4. Side B
  5. Angelina II

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz