Ben Zucker

Fifth Season (Amalgam Records)

Fifth Season is the bandleader debut of multi-instrumentalist composer and improviser Ben Zucker. Ben’s music combines various experimental forms and styles, rooted in active collaboration and the sensuous experience of performing. By using long-form prose descriptions of gestures and textures, the music of Fifth Season is guided yet open-ended, and content is constantly made anew in the moment. For this album, some of Chicago’s most interesting up-and-coming improvisers went into the studio to realize a recording of these compositions. Released on the artist-run collective Amalgam Records, the album is a document of careful communication and exploration.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Ben Zucker - Vibraphone
Mabel Kwan - Piano
Eli Namay - Upright bass
Adam Shead - Drums

Recorded and mixed by Nick Broste at the Shape Shoppe, Chicago, on July 23, 2019.

Mastered by Bill Harris.

Artwork by Studio Ibid.

Track Listing

  1. Sussurigation A
  2. Fifth Season: I
  3. Fifth Season: II
  4. Fifth Season: III
  5. Fifth Season: IV
  6. Moths Eating The Wallpaper Of Concorde
  7. Sussurigation B
  8. Sixth Skin Pataforming

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz



Miles Davis Special Issue

By submitting, you give JAZZIZ Magazine permission to keep you updated via email or customized online advertising. You can opt out at any time. Check our privacy policy for more details.

Enter your email below for a free MEETING MILES: FACE TO FACE WITH THE PRINCE OF DARKNESS Special Issue!