Michael Thomas

Event Horizon (GiantStep Arts)

Saxophonist and composer Michael Thomas has been an active part of the NYC jazz scene since arriving in 2011. His latest release, “Event Horizon” (GiantStep Arts, 2020) documents his quartet performing live at The Jazz Gallery. Thomas also co-leads the Grammy-nominated Terraza Big Band, and has worked as a sideman with Brad Mehldau, Miguel Zenón, Nicholas Payton, Etienne Charles, Dafnis Prieto, Manuel Valera, and a host of other leading jazz artists. Thomas’ playing on saxophone and woodwinds can be heard on over 30 recordings, and he is frequently commissioned to write for collegiate and professional big bands around the world.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Michael Thomas - saxophone, compositions
Jason Palmer - trumpet
Hans Glawischnig - bass
Johnathan Blake - drums

Track Listing

  1. Distance
  2. Drift
  3. Bass Intro
  4. Dr. Teeth
  5. Framework
  6. Sax Intro
  7. Chant
  8. Underground
  9. Drum Intro
  10. Event Horizon
  11. Fox and Cat

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz