Haruna Fukazawa

Departure (Summit Records)

Haruna Fukazawa is a New York-based flutist originally from Japan. She has been an active member of the American and Japanese musical scenes as a performer, composer, and recording artist for over a decade. Her straightforward, joyful, and powerful playing style is inspired most by her legendary teacher and mentor Frank Wess. In 2009 she started visiting New York City regularly to study with Wess, and shortly after decided to move to New York to play jazz full-time at the encouragement of Wess. She has performed in some of the most prestigious venues in New York City.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Haruna Fukazawa – Flute and Alto flute
Steve Wilson – Soprano sax and Flute
David DeMotta – Piano
Bill Moring – Bass
Steve Johns – Drums

Track Listing

  1. Contact (Haruna Fukazawa)
  2. Juicy Lucy (Horace Silver arrange by Haruna Fukazawa)
  3. I wish you Love (Chaeles Trenet arrange by Haruna Fukazawa)
  4. Bassi Blues (Haruna Fukazawa)
  5. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing (Billy Strayhorn arrange by Haruna Fukazawa)
  6. Cat’s Meeting (Haruna Fukazawa)
  7. Alice In Wonderland (Sammy Fain arrange by Haruna Fukazawa)
  8. No Fine Weather (Haruna Fukazawa)

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz