Christoph Irniger Pilgrim

Crosswinds (Intakt Records)

The quintet Pilgrim, founded by Zurich-based tenor saxophonist Christoph Irniger, has become over the years one of the most exciting ensembles in young European Jazz. Their fourth recording ‘Crosswinds’ is a gorgeously considered, but luxuriantly open new recording. Some compositions are freely improvised, while others are completely notated, yet most lie in between, with an elasticity that reflects a life of freedom, where informed choices are made spontaneously. The accompanying soundtrack oscillates between enigmatic reflection and wild eruptions, although the band creates a dense, all-round sound which is hard to categorize.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Christoph Irniger: Saxophone
Dave Gisler: Guitar
Stefan Aeby: Piano
Raffaele Bossard: Bass
Michi Stulz: Drums

Track Listing

  1. Big Wheel (Christoph Irniger) 9 : 05
  2. Luce Oscura (Christoph Irniger) 4 : 58
  3. Point of view (Christoph Irniger) 8 : 00
  4. Miniature (Stefan Aeby) 1 : 16
  5. Crosswinds (Christoph Irniger) 9 : 07
  6. C Major Improvisation (Pilgrim) 3 : 37
  7. Studio Song (Christoph Irniger) 3 : 34
  8. Inside (Christoph Irniger) 6 : 56
  9. Aeon (Raffaele Bossard) 5 : 58

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz