Jakob Norgren Jazz Orchestra

Creations & Transformations (Wime Records)

Album number 6 from a big band celebrating 15 years!
Four original compositions + creative arrangements on ”Crazy” (Gnarls Barkley), ”I Can’t Go For That” (Hall & Oates), ”Careless Whisper” (George Michael) and ”The Sound of Music” (Rodgers/Hammerstein). As usual, the music is arranged and produced by band leader Jakob Norgren, who is based in Stockholm, Sweden.

The same band—expanded with guitar, percussion and 4-5 vocalists—is also known under the name Big Band Splash, when playing a more soul/R&B-oriented repertoire. All albums available on digital platforms under artist name “Jakob Norgren”.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Trumpet: Fredrik Oscarsson (4, 5, 8) / Patrik Skogh (1, 2, 3, 6, 7), Jonne Bentlöv (solos on 1, 5), David Ljunggren, Oscar Lindblom (solo on 6); Trombone: Mats Äleklint (except 4, 5; solos on 3, 8), Michael Rörby (except 8; solo on 6), Johan Åström (solo on 2), Arvid Ingberg (4, 5, 7), Magnus Wiklund (8); Bass trombone / Sousaphone: Klas Eriksson (solo on 1); Alto sax / Flute: Peter Fredman (except 4, 5; solo on 6), Lina Lövstrand (2, 4, 5, 8; solo on 2), Johan Alenius (except 8; solo on 4); Tenor sax / Clarinet: Kai Sundquist (clarinet solo on 5), Christian Herluf Pedersen (tenor solo on 5); Tenor sax soloist on 8: Jonas Kullhammar; Baritone sax / Bass clarinet / Contra-alto clarinet: Jakob Norgren (solos on 2, 7); Piano: Mathias Lundqvist; Double bass: Lars Ekman; Drums: Isak Andersson; Arranged & produced by Jakob Norgren.

Track Listing

  1. Crazy (Thomas Callaway, Brian Burton, G. P. Reverberi, G. F. Reverberi) 5.39
  2. Holen Blues (Jakob Norgren) 5.52
  3. The Sound of Music (Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein) 4.48
  4. T.T.F. (Jakob Norgren) 5.20
  5. I Can’t Go For That (Daryl Hall, John Oates, Sara Allen) 7.58
  6. Wake-Up Call (Jakob Norgren) 7.10
  7. Careless Whisper (George Michael, Andrew Ridgeley) 5.38
  8. Pathfinding (live) (Jakob Norgren) 8.30

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz



Miles Davis Special Issue

By submitting, you give JAZZIZ Magazine permission to keep you updated via email or customized online advertising. You can opt out at any time. Check our privacy policy for more details.

Enter your email below for a free MEETING MILES: FACE TO FACE WITH THE PRINCE OF DARKNESS Special Issue!