Steve Davis

Correlations (Smoke Sessions)

One of the most acclaimed trombonists of his generation, Steve Davis has been a member of some of jazz’s premiere ensembles: Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers, Chick Corea’s Origins, the Jackie McLean Sextet, Benny Golson’s New Jazztet, the Christian McBride Big Band, and the all-star collective One For All. With Correlations, Davis introduces a powerhouse group all his own, a new multi-generational sextet that weaves together a thrilling new sound from myriad common threads. Correlations, due out March 8 via Smoke Sessions Records, introduces the new band with a set of inspired new tunes and classic compositions from jazz masters who’ve pointed the way for Davis and his cohort to follow, galvanized by tradition but boldly pushing forward. That adventurousness is just one of the connections that binds these six artists together, one of many correlations that give the album and the sextet their name.
Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Trombone: Steve Davis
Trumpet/Flugelhorn: Joshua Bruneau
Saxophone: Wayne Escoffery
Piano: Xavier Davis
Bass: Dezron Douglas

Track Listing

  1. "Embarcadero"
  2. "Subtlety"
  3. "Bautista's Revenge"
  4. "Song for My Love"
  5. "Newbie"
  6. "Peace"
  7. "Can't Complain"
  8. "Think on Me"
  9. "Blues for Owen"
  10. "A Child is Born"
  11. "Inner Glimpse"

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz