Miggy Augmented Orchestra

Colorful (ArtistShare)

Migiwa’s career path began on a different trajectory—she worked as a director of real estate ads, an IT engineer, and then an editor-in-chief of a travel magazine. But in 2004, at the age of 30, she decided to become a musician. Five years later, the Vanguard Jazz Orchestra recognized Migiwa’s talent. She was associate producer for two Grammy Award nominated albums by the orchestra in 2011 and 2014. In 2012, having received a Japanese government scholarship and a Japan-US Friendship Commission Fellowship, Migiwa made her move to New York. Her ensemble’s debut album Colorful was released by ArtistShare.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


The Band
Composer, Piano: Migiwa Miyajima

Trumpets and Flugelhorns:
Dan Urness
David Smith
Matt Holman
Nadje Noordhuis

John Mosca
Jason Jackson
Jennifer Wharton (bass trombone)
Douglas Purviance (bass trombone)

Ben Kono (alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, clarinet)
Alejandro Aviles (alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, clarinet)
Sam Dillon (tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet)
Quinsin Nachoff (tenor saxophone, clarinet)
Carl Maraghi (baritone saxophone, bass clarinet)

Rhythm Section
Jeb Patton (piano, except 2 and 9)
Migiwa Miyajima (piano, on 2 and 9)
Jared Schonig (drums)
Pete McCann (guitar)
Yosuke Terao (bass)

Guest player
Tomoko Nagashima from Orange Pekoe (voice)

Recording Engineer/ Mixing Engineer
Jay Messina
Mastering Engineer
Greg Calbi

Track Listing

  1. Ready? (2:46)
  2. Colorful (8:46)
  3. Captain Miggy’s Age Of Discovery (6:27)
  4. Find the white line - inspiration on birds (7:44)
  5. The Hi-Hat Man (7:29)
  6. Drops into the sky - dedicated to Kumi Hoshika (7:37)
  7. Awakening (8:15)
  8. Hope for Hope (10:58)
  9. An Ending - I love you (4:07)

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz

As part of our celebration of Women’s History Month, we’re offering an exclusive all-women CD featuring some of the greatest jazz artists in the world, including Carla Bley, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Jane Bunnett, Brenda Russell, Michele Rosewoman, Leni Stern, Gabriela Anders and Keely Smith.

to claim yours for free by gifting a friend a subscription.