Christian McBride

Christian McBride’s New Jawn (Mack Avenue)

If there’s one thing the acclaimed bassist knows, it’s that when it comes to grit there’s no better resource to draw from than his own hometown, Philadelphia. So, McBride turned to one of the city’s most beloved colloquialisms to christen his latest project, Christian McBride’s New Jawn. On the band’s eponymous debut, these four stellar musicians ably walk the razor’s edge between thrilling virtuosity and gut-punch instinctiveness. The release will be available on October 26 via Brother Mister Productions, McBride’s own newly launched imprint of his longtime label, Mack Avenue Records.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Christian McBride, bass
Marcus Strickland, saxophones
Josh Evans, trumpet
Nasheet Waits, drums

Track Listing

  1. Walkin' Funny
  2. Ke-Kelli Sketch
  3. Ballad of Ernie Washington
  4. The Middle Man
  5. Pier One Import
  6. Kush
  7. Seek the Source
  8. John Day
  9. Sightseeing

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz