Austin Stewart

Bonk (Instrumental Grooves)

Bonk is a drummer and composer Austin Stewart’s third album of original music, a blend of instrumental grooves, jazz and funk. The album features trumpeter Farnell Newton (Jill Scott, Bootsy Collins, Dumpstaphunk, Lettuce, Karl Denson), along with Mac Brown (guitar), Spencer Finnan (keys), Drew Nelson (bass), and Austin Stewart (drums/composer). The album was recorded on April 30, 2017, in Portland, Oregon. All songs were written, recorded and mixed by Austin Stewart and mastered by Adam Gonsalves, Telegraph Mastering. Bonk follows Stewart’s prior albums, Looking for a Sign (2015) and Shake It Out (2013).

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Farnell Newton (trumpet), Mac Brown (guitar), Spencer Finnan (keys), Drew Nelson (bass), and Austin Stewart (drums/composer).

Track Listing

  1. Bonk (5:27)
  2. Fruity Pebbles (9:00)
  3. Sleepyhead (11:37)
  4. Gravy Train (6:43)
  5. And When I See You Again (7:51)
  6. Anything You Say (7:41)
  7. Queen's Gambit (7:04)
  8. Innerspace (6:26)

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz



Miles Davis Special Issue

By submitting, you give JAZZIZ Magazine permission to keep you updated via email or customized online advertising. You can opt out at any time. Check our privacy policy for more details.

Enter your email below for a free MEETING MILES: FACE TO FACE WITH THE PRINCE OF DARKNESS Special Issue!