Markus Rutz


Markus Rutz plays trumpet with bluesy, soulful style and a tone that has been called exquisite. Capturing the same spirit as his dynamic live performances, 2019 marked the release of his third album, Blueprints – Figure One: Frameworks. The first of two volumes in partnership with OA2 Records, the majority of this album is comprised of his own compositions and ranges from duet to sextet, incorporating pieces featuring Cuban percussion, ballads, bop, West Coast Cool and swing. He performs, teaches and composes music from his home base in Chicago, Illinois.

Out Now
Listen Now Visit Artist's Website


Markus Rutz - trumpet and composition
Brice Winston - saxophones
Adrian Ruiz - piano
Marcos Varela - bass
Xavier Breaker - drums (tracks 1, 5, 7)
Marcus Evans - drums (tracks 6, 9)
Matt Gold - guitar
Heitor Garcia - percussion

Compositions by Markus Rutz, except as indicated (tracks 5, 6, 7 & 9).

The music was recorded at Transient Sound in the Ravenswood neighborhood of Chicago. Mixing was done at The Samurai Hotel in Astoria Queens, New York by David Stoller with mastering by Kevin Blackler at Blackler Mastering in Brooklyn, New York.

album photography by John Nicholls.
Blueprint cover image: Gunnar Adolfson 1936 patent application
Cover design and layout by John Bishop

Track Listing

  1. The Compass
  2. The Musicianer
  3. Gusto, as in Mucho
  4. Very Marie
  5. Limbo (by Wayne Shorter)
  6. September in the Rain (by Harry Warren)
  7. Syndrome (by Ellis Marsalis)
  8. Shipmates
  9. Segment (by Charlie Parker)

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz

Spread Holiday Cheer with JAZZIZ Holiday Boxes