Subscribe now to start getting your magazines and music


September 2017 Issue
August 2017


New book celebrates half-century legacy of Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra

50 Years at the Village Vanguard: Thad Jones, Mel Lewis and the Vanguard Jazz Orchestra is the title of a new book celebrating the half-century legacy of the Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra, regarded as one of the most important big bands in modern jazz. The book is written by Dave Lisik and Eric Allen and is on sale now via SkyDeck Music.

Trumpeter Thad Jones and drummer Mel Lewis founded the orchestra in New York in 1965. The orchestra toured the world for twelve years and, beginning in February 1966, it played every Monday night at the Village Vanguard, the iconic club in New York City. After Jones suddenly moved to Copenhagen, Denmark, in 1978, the band became known as the Mel Lewis Jazz Orchestra. Since the death of Lewis in 1990, the band was renamed the Vanguard Jazz Orchestra and has maintained a residency at the Village Vanguard for over 50 years.

50 Years at the Village Vanguard‘s 9×11 hardcover book is 328 pages long and includes over 500 images, many of them rare and/or never before seen by the public. It also includes extensive interviews with past and present members of the band. A limited supply of numbered copies signed by both authors

A limited supply of numbered copies signed by both authors is available. For more information, go to https://www.skydeckmusic.com/

© 2017 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

Shopping Cart

Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop

Chick Corea & Bella Fleck May 19th NJPAC

Current Spotlights

New Bill Frisell documentary to screen at DOC NYC, November 15
A short history of ... "Easy Living" (Ralph Rainger and Leo Robin, 1937)
A short history of ... "Blueberry Hill" (Vincent Rose, Larry Scott, Al Lewis, 1940)


New Releases Record Bin

The Three Sounds, featuring Gene Harris Groovin’ Hard: Live at the Penthouse 1964-1968


© 2017 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

What's your favorite jazz?