Subscribe now to start getting your magazines and music


January 2018 Cover
December 2017 Cover


National Endowment for the Arts names 2018 Jazz Masters

The 2018 recipients of the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Jazz Masters award have been announced. The award comes with a $25,000 prize and is widely recognized as the highest honor for jazz in the United States.

The newest recipients of the award are: pianist, composer, and educator Joanne Brackeen; guitarist, composer, and educator Pat Metheny; vocalist Dianne Reeves; and club owner, producer, and artistic programmer Todd Barkan.

“The NEA Jazz Masters represent the very pinnacle of talent, creativity, innovation, and vision,” said NEA Chairman Jane Chu in an official statement. “We look forward to celebrating these four new Jazz Masters and their many contributions to jazz.”

The new class will be inducted at a tribute event and ceremony at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., on April 18, 2018. The NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert will be free and open to the public. It will also be streamed online.

For more information, go to https://www.arts.gov/

© 2018 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

Shopping Cart


Ken Wiley Jazz Horn Redux

Current Spotlights

Michael McDonald
10 actors who played real-life jazz artists
2018 GRAMMYS: Best Latin Jazz Album nominees
2018 GRAMMYS: Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album nominees

New Releases Record Bin

REVIEW: Günter “Baby” Sommer - Le Piccole Cose: Live at Theater Gütersloh
REVIEW: Regina Carter - Ella: Accentuate the Positive
REVIEW: Ignacio Berroa Trio - Straight Ahead From Havana
REVIEW: The Angelica Sanchez Trio - Float the Edge
REVIEW: Gerald Clayton - Tributary Tales
REVIEW: Duende Libre - Duende Libre

© 2018 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

What's your favorite jazz?