Mats Eilertsen’s new album out now on ECM

Norwegian bassist Mats Eilertsen released his new album, Rubicon, on ECM Records on July 27.


The album was produced by ECM label head Manfred Eicher and recorded in May 2015. It includes compositions originally written by Eilertsen in response to a commission from the Vossajazz Festival.


Rubicon is performed by a septet featuring saxophonist and clarinetist Eirik Hegdal, guitarist Thomas T. Dahl, vibraphonist Rob Waring, drummer Olavi Louhivuori and pianist Harmen Fraanje. The latter contributed his own compositions “Cross the Creek” to the album.


For more information, go to

Join Our Newsletter
Join thousands of other jazz enthusiasts and get new music, artists, album, events and more delivered to your inbox.

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz

As part of our celebration of Women’s History Month, we’re offering an exclusive all-women CD featuring some of the greatest jazz artists in the world, including Carla Bley, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Jane Bunnett, Brenda Russell, Michele Rosewoman, Leni Stern, Gabriela Anders and Keely Smith.

to claim yours for free by gifting a friend a subscription.