Listen to a new track from Robert Glasper’s upcoming “Everything’s Beautiful”

“I’m Leaving You” is the latest track to have been released from the upcoming album Everything’s Beautiful, produced by pianist and composer Robert Glasper. The album blends a diverse group of master takes and outtakes from across the Miles Davis Columbia catalog with a line-up of established contemporary artists and musicians to create original interpretations.


One of the songs on the track-list is “I’m Leaving You,” and it features singer Ledisi and guitarist John Scofield. The latter used to tour and record with Davis.


“With ‘I’m Leaving You,’ I found a clip of Miles saying ‘wait a minute’—just that simple phrase—and it had so much of his classic swag in it, and it had such a rhythm, I decided to build that whole track around that and that’s how it started,” notes Glasper. “After that it was a real group thing: Ledisi wrote the lyric, my man Black Milk took a Lenny White drum pattern and chopped it up for the beat, and that’s John Scofield—who is our direct link to Miles for this project, having been in his ’80s band. That brought it full circle. I love the R&B uplift this track gives the whole project!”


Everything’s Beautiful will be available from May 27 via Sony Music.

Join Our Newsletter
Join thousands of other jazz enthusiasts and get new music, artists, album, events and more delivered to your inbox.

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz

As part of our celebration of Women’s History Month, we’re offering an exclusive all-women CD featuring some of the greatest jazz artists in the world, including Carla Bley, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Jane Bunnett, Brenda Russell, Michele Rosewoman, Leni Stern, Gabriela Anders and Keely Smith.

to claim yours for free by gifting a friend a subscription.