Jazz at Lincoln Center announces 2016 Ertegun inductees

Jazz at Lincoln Center announced the induction of trombonist J.J. Johnson and saxophonists Wayne Shorter and Ben Webster into the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame on May 17.


The 2016 inductees were nominated by a committee of select musicians and scholars and voted in by a public vote that took place from May 1 through May 15 by jazz fans around the world.


The Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame honors legendary artists or members of the jazz community based on their singular dedication and outstanding contribution to jazz.  To date, Jazz at Lincoln Center has inducted 51 members into the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame and will continue to induct new members annually.


Johnson, Shorter and Webster, the newest Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame class, will be celebrated during curated sets on July 12-14 at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola.


For more information, go to http://academy.jazz.org/hall-of-fame/

Join Our Newsletter
Join thousands of other jazz enthusiasts and get new music, artists, album, events and more delivered to your inbox.

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz