Alice Coltrane, Dutch Falconi, Blue Reality Quartet & More: New Release Cheat Sheet

If you’re looking for some great new music to discover this weekend, look no further than our weekly New Release Cheat Sheet. This week, we bring you previously unreleased music by Alice Coltrane, as well as premieres from Dutch Falconi and Blue Reality Quartet and more.


New Songs and Videos

Dutch Falconi, “La Amante Del Inquisidor” [Song Premiere]

“La Amante Del Inquisidor” is the new single from Dutch Falconi’s forthcoming sophomore solo album, Curious Fabrications. Falconi is best-known for his big band work but on this album, he showcases his own original swing-era compositions, flamboyant musicality and fearless imagination as sole writer, player and producer. This single is a fascinating melting pot of sounds. His intention, Falconi says via a press release, was to create “something beautiful, wild and curious while being charged with passion and mystery.” Curious Fabrications is out July 23 via Aurore Records. Pre-order it here.


Alice Coltrane, “Krishna Krishna”

An album of rare devotional songs from spiritual jazz legend Alice Coltrane is due out July 16 via Impulse!/UMe. Kirtan: Turiya Sings is produced by Ravi Coltrane and is part of the Impulse! Label’s 60th-anniversary celebrations. Its tracklist includes never-before-heard mixes of just Coltrane’s voice and organ, only previously released on cassettes exclusively intended for the students of her famous Vedantic Center. You can listen to “Krishna Krishna” from Kirtan: Turiya Sings via the player below and pre-order the album here.


Blue Reality Quartet, “Love Exists Everywhere” [Song Premiere]

Mahakala Records will release the self-titled debut of the new Blue Reality Quartet on July 23, featuring an unusual double reed and double percussion lineup with Joe McPhee and Michael Marcus on reeds, and Jay Rosen and Warren Smith on drums. Throughout the records, all musicians push their personal limits as players and improvisers. Its lead single is the meditative and gorgeous “Love Exists Everywhere,” premiering here and officially released on June 11.

New Albums

Bruce Harris, Soundview (Cellar Music Group)

Bronx-born trumpeter/composer/educator Bruce Harris celebrates his ancestors and the architects of the Black American songbook, from Duke Ellington to Barry Harris and beyond, via covers and originals on his latest full-length. Soundview is produced by Jeremy Pelt and features Harris and his A-list quartet of masterful musicians, including pianist Sullivan Fortner, bassist David Wong, drummer Aaron Kimmel and rising star vocalist Samara Joy. Order it here.


Cande y Paulo, Cande y Paulo (Decca)

Vocalist/upright bassist Cande Buasso and keyboardist Paulo Carrizo follow their viral YouTube success with a stunning, self-titled debut album. On Cande y Paulo, the Argentinian duo offers a sublime collection of reworked songs, including “I Fall in Love Too Easily,” lead single “Tuyo” and a new take on the song that brought them fame, “Barro Tal Vez.” The album was recorded and produced by Larry Kleyn. Order Cande y Paulo here.


Michael Mayo, Bones (Mack Avenue)

Classically trained NYC-based rising star vocalist/instrumentalist/songwriter Michael Mayo has developed his own seamless and lush sound and on his solo debut full-length, Bones, he showcases this idiosyncratic blend of alternative and neo-soul. Bones is also his most personal release yet, where he shares his experience of embracing his bisexuality and where its songs represent the building blocks that made him the person he is today. Order Bones here.

Like this article?  Get more when you subscribe.

Join Our Newsletter
Join thousands of other jazz enthusiasts and get new music, artists, album, events and more delivered to your inbox.

The Authoritative Voice in Jazz