Subscribe now to start getting your magazines and music


September 2017 Issue
August 2017

Ken Wiley

2017 NEA Jazz Masters announced

The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) has announced the 2017 Jazz Masters Fellows, recipients of the highest honor in jazz in the U.S., for their lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions for the advancement of jazz.


The five recipients are vocalist are vocalist and broadcaster Dee Dee Bridgewater; bassist, cellist composer and bandleader Dave Holland; keyboardist, composer and arranger Dick Hyman; organist and composer Dr. Lonnie Smith; author, editor, producer and educator Ira Gitler. Each one will receive a $25,000 award and will be honored at a tribute concert on April 3.


The free concert will be held at the Kennedy Center’s Concert Hall, will be open to the public and available through a live webstream.


For more information, go to https://www.arts.gov/

© 2017 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

Shopping Cart

Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop

Urbanity Debut Single "Don't Look Back"


Current Spotlights

A short history of ... "St. Louis Blues" (W.C. Handy, 1914)
New Bill Frisell documentary to screen at DOC NYC, November 15
A short history of ... "Easy Living" (Ralph Rainger and Leo Robin, 1937)
A short history of ... "Blueberry Hill" (Vincent Rose, Larry Scott, Al Lewis, 1940)


New Releases Record Bin

The Three Sounds, featuring Gene Harris Groovin’ Hard: Live at the Penthouse 1964-1968

© 2017 JAZZIZ Publishing. All Rights Reserved.

What's your favorite jazz?