John McLaughlin, Live in Boston

John Mclaughlin

Last summer, guitarist John McLaughlin and The 4th Dimension—Gary Husband on keyboards and drums, Etienne Mbappe on bass and Ranjit Barot on drums and vocals—toured America. On June 22nd they performed at the Berklee College of Music in Boston. That concert was recorded and is now scheduled for release on March 18th.

Asked to describe the album, titled The Boston Record, McLaughlin says, “From time to time, a live record is made that has everything: great collective playing, a terrific audience, fantastic recorded sound and a wonderful atmosphere. In the new recording of our concert, you’ll find all of the above. I’m really happy about this recording.”

The Boston Record captures McLaughlin and The 4th Dimension playing a fiery performance at Berklee, highlighted by a new take on the classic Mahavishnu Orchestra song “You Know, You Know.” Here is the entire track listing:

1. Raju
2. Little Miss Valley
3. Abbaji
4. Echos from Then
5. Senor C.S.
6. Call & Answer
7. Maharina
8. Hijacked
9. You Know, You Know


Upcoming Performance

Stay posted for upcoming events!

JAZZIZ Magazine

current digital edition

Print Edition

On Sale Now! See what's inside.


For exclusive savings, updates and more!